Your Fastest Path to Results

...even during busy summer holidays

Happy Sunday, friends!

If you’re coming off holiday time, or have some summer holidays coming up—this one will be especially great for you.

Today I wanted to share some more lessons I’m learning from an 8-figure business partner, and how you can apply these ASAP—especially during a busy summer season!

P.S. I’ve enjoyed the follow-up calls with you guys and the great feedback about the recent AI webinar I put on! I’m keeping a few more slots open for a free brainstorming AI audit this & next week if you want to explore how you can better harness the power of AII!

If you want to summarize the habits of successful people into one phrase, it's this: successful people start before they feel ready.

- James Clear

In business, we’ve all heard about the concept of the M.V.P.

It makes a lot of sense for the up-and-coming tech startup that needs to get a V1 of their software solution out to the market and see if it actually sticks.

& then get the most data to pivot or improve their product quickly

But if you’re a solopreneur, or operating with a small team, it can be tempting to operate from the mindset of:

“If I just get it right from the start, then I don’t have to worry about it & move on!”

Sound familiar?

Sure, the famous adage goes something like:

“If you fail to plan, you’re planning to fail.”

But when I get caught overthinking it, I prefer to contrast this with the line from Mike Tyson:

“Everybody’s got a plan until they get punched in the mouth.”

If we let ourselves get caught in loops of over-planning with perfectionist tendencies, we slow down our learning—and our progress.

I’ve caught myself tempted to do this as I’m building new processes and wanting to get it right before we scale things up…

But exploring plans with someone who’s done this 100s of times for multi-7-figure businesses, I’ve continually heard reminders like:

“Let’s just get V1 out there to see if this actually works first”
“I don’t want us to get bogged down”
“Let’s avoid all complexity for now”

And this is the reminder I’m passing on to you, especially as we head into the thick of summer here in the northern hemisphere…

As humans, we like to over-complicate things.

I’m choosing to enjoy my summer back home in Canada, and simplicity in my work is going to be what makes the biggest difference in helping me achieve this.

Nothing like *simple* calm summer mornings on the dock ☀️

By working towards “good enough” v1 solutions, we’ll actually get to the best version of what we’re creating that much faster.

This is a simple (but not always easy) game of just getting it working, and then getting it right.

As you head into the new week ahead, ask yourself…

Where are you adding unnecessary complexity in your work or life, and how can you simplify things?

Have a great week ahead!
Trevor “Keeping it Simple” Davis

Cultural Reads is a bi-weekly newsletter with a book, movie & music tip from countries all around the world.

If you’re interested in culture, learning, and broadening your horizon – this is for you.

Get ready for an easy way to discover non-mainstream songs, films, and books as well as interviews with artists, journalists, and musicians.